how i C it

Pull up a chair and stay a while.

Hear What the Veteran Has to Say

If you’re into technology news and updates, you should definitely follow Tech Crunch. They update continuously and the articles are always pretty interesting.

OK, now on to an article that caught my eye. It’s called, “From College to Silicon Valley: Tips From a Veteran” by Pedram Keyani. I believe the primary audience is college students with engineering and other technical experience; however, the information in the article can be applied to other areas.

Photo courtesy of techcrunch.com

As the title hints to, the article is about making the transition from college life to the business world. I’ll begin with an interesting statement.

 Companies, like people, have distinctive personalities.

I thought this was a good mindset to have during the job search. The author explains that just like you don’t get along with every personality, you may not be compatible with every company that offers you a job. Keyani really stresses the importance of the fit between you and a company. It’s the same mindset I had when picking out a college.

The next piece of advice the author gives is to sample the buffet. What surprised me is that Keyani said you should never intern in the same place. I thought that if an internship went well and continued to go well, you would have a better chance of moving up in the company. It does make sense when the author considers internships as appetizers. Basically, you should try ‘mini-servings’ and get as well-rounded as you can as far as experiences and skills.

Another really important tip was about the negotiation part of a job interview. A lot the time we may be too intimidated to ask about the offer or not even thinking about it. It’s a natural feeling, but the author says you should be prepared for it any way. Another thing is that you should never just throw out a number, especially if you don’t have any prior experience with negotiating. Tell the employer that you haven’t thought of any specific amounts but would like to see what they have to offer. Just be sure to listen for the keywords, “Our final offer.”

Photo courtesy of readersandrootworkers.org

The last one I will share involves the first 100 days of the job. The author states that there will be difficulties and you will make mistakes, but you have to look ahead. Keyani actually suggests talking to a mentor or manager about the issues they came across on their first job. I think this is a great idea because more than likely they have plenty of experience to give.

Overall, I thought it was a cool article with good advice that can be modified to fit any career. On that note, I will leave you with an encouraging quote:

Instead of agonizing over your stumbles, focus on doing what you enjoy and give it your very best shot.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Hear What the Veteran Has to Say

  1. Love the quote about distinctive personalities. I have a very strong personality and I know companies do too. I think that it’s great advice about finding a company that you can get along with. The point made about creating well rounded experiences is well taken but I just don’t think it’s realistic in the world that we live in today. With bad economies everywhere, if an internship offers me a position/promotion and I liked what I was doing, I’m going to take it because it is providing security for me at that time.

    -Orlando

Leave a Reply

